About Us


The Upper Ventura River Groundwater Agency was formed in December 2016 by the five public agencies described below using a Joint Powers Agreement (see Library for copy of “Joint Exercise of Powers Agreement). The Agency became aGroundwater Sustainability Agency (an official agency authorized by the Department of Water Resource to prepare a Groundwater Sustainability Plan) in 2017. The agency is governed by a seven member Board of Directors consisting of one director from each public agency and two stakeholder directors representing environmental and agricultural interests.

The Directors are:

Diana Engle, Chair
Meiners Oaks Water District
dengle@uvrgroundwater.org

Bruce Kuebler, Vice Chair
Ventura River Water District
BKuebler@uvrgroundwater.org

Angelo Spandrio, Secretary
Casitas Municipal Water District
aspandrio@casitaswater.org

Emily Ayala
Agricultural Stakeholder
eayala@uvrgroundwater.org

Susan Rungren
Ventura Water
srungren@cityofventura.ca.gov

Larry Rose
Environmental Stakeholder
LarryRose@roadrunner.com

Glenn Shephard
Ventura County
Glenn.Shephard@ventura.org