About Us

The Upper Ventura River Groundwater Agency was formed in December 2016 by the five public agencies described below using a Joint Powers Agreement (see Library for copy of “Joint Exercise of Powers Agreement). The Agency became aGroundwater Sustainability Agency (an official agency authorized by the Department of Water Resource to prepare a Groundwater Sustainability Plan) in 2017. The agency is governed by a seven member Board of Directors consisting of one director from each public agency and two stakeholder directors representing environmental and agricultural interests.

The Directors are:

Bruce Kuebler, Chair
Ventura River Water District

Mary Bergen, Vice Chair
Casitas Municipal Water District

Diana Engle, Secretary
Meiners Oaks Water District

Emily Ayala
Agricultural Stakeholder

Kevin Brown
Ventura Water

Larry Rose
Environmental Stakeholder

Glenn Shephard
Ventura County